Skip to content
July 29, 2010 / agrove19

The Revolution

Hello Blog World (or the few friends I coerce into reading this)!

As this is my first post, I will explain the reasoning behind this blog. Recently, I have been making some changes. Ok, “changes” might be an understatement. I have revolutionized my life. And yes, I mean revolution. I want to eradicate the old and bring in the shiny new. I realized I was not living to my potential and missing out on a lot of cool stuff. So here is a list of things I am changing in no particular order:

1. Food: There will be a lot of posts about food on this blog because this change has spurred on many others. In the past, my eating choices have been less than stellar. Anything that was convenient was on my menu. However, after doing a lot of research on the food industry and health, this change has to happen now. Gone are the fast food dinners and processed sweets. My new eating habits include eating only ingredients I can pronounce. That means a lot of healthy stuff as well as a lot of adjustments. I will use this blog to post homemade recipes  and ways to eat healthy but not forfeit taste because at the end of the day, I still love food. Also, please note, this does not mean I will never eat a cupcake again. Instead, the next cupcake I consume, I will be making it- from scratch. Get it?

2. I am getting hitched! After five and a half years together, myself and the new yorker are finally tying the knot. We also just got a puppy. Our lives have been turned upside down. I am sure parents to “real” kids think this is a joke (and I agree with you), but  seriously, I feel like a parent. For the last few months, I have been navigating wedding planning with my rents and in laws, as well as training an opinionated puppy. However, luckily, I have experience with adolescent attitudes. See below. I am pretty sure this has been the biggest but the best change of all.

3. I am starting my second year of teaching. I teach 7th grade. If you think I am a glutton for punishment, you are correct. Thirteen year olds are the most complex creatures I have ever met. Even the nicest of the species will attack unprovoked. I should have blogged about my first year, but I am pretty sure the second year will be just as exciting.

4.  I love to travel and I have realized I do not travel enough. Each week I am going to feature a place that I would like to visit and will someday soon. Suggestions are always welcome!

So there is my manifesto. I know I am not entirely recreating my life from scratch, but I am definitely doing some remodeling.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. theartfulabode / Jul 29 2010 7:02 pm

    yay, welcome to blog land! your manifesto is pretty intriguing, so I can’t wait to read your future entries. enjoy!

    • agrove19 / Jul 29 2010 7:33 pm

      woo hoo! I figured it was time to add my two cents to the blog world. I have some ideas. 🙂

  2. That's Not Real / Jul 31 2010 3:06 pm

    Congrats Amy! I can’t wait to read all your blog posts and look forward to discussing your travel pick every friday.

    • agrove19 / Jul 31 2010 3:10 pm

      Yes, indeed. If you have any suggestions for upcoming posts let me know. I am definitely going to do Peru soon. There have been some psychic revelations that I need to go there…

Leave a Reply

