Skip to content
July 31, 2010 / agrove19

Travel: Argentina

So every Friday I am going to post a travel related blog. Most posts will be about places I have never been. Some will be about places where I have already traveled. All will be places I would love to visit (in some instances, again).

The first place I am featuring is Argentina. Currently, Argentina is ranked number one on our honeymoon list. There are several reasons why I would love to visit this South American gem. Here are three:

1. I love Eva Peron and have since I was 13. Coincidentally, Evita was released that year (I was 13, I get a pass).

2. It has beautiful architecture combined with friendly prices. Of course I would love to visit Paris or Rome, but my wallet is not so keen. Argentina seems to have the best of both worlds. A great culture combined with affordability. Woot.

3. It is beautiful and geographically diverse country. ‘Nuff said.

Places I want to visit in Argentina:

  • Casa Rosada: The official seat of Argentina’s government. Eva Peron made speeches from the balcony and one day, so will I.

  • Ushuaia, Argentina: Now, my friend Reny, she is cool. She has been to six out of seven continents. Now you are probably thinking she covered the easiest six, right? No, not Reny. She has been to Antarctica. Even though I would like to (and heck, maybe one day I will), I somehow do not think Antarctica is in my cards. Apparently, they are cutting back on tourism. Sooooo…. the second best thing? Terra del Fuego. It is the southernmost spot in South America. It also used to be a penal colony. I might also get to see a glacier, not Antarctica, but I think Reny would be proud. Win and Win.

  • Buenos Aires: Some describe the city as an amalgamation (SAT word) of European and Latin American cultures. Yes please.

  • Parque Nacional Iguazú: I have never seen a waterfall. I have been deprived.

So there is my are my reasons for wanting to travel to Argentina. Have you ever been there or know someone who has? Any recommendations?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Audrey / Jul 31 2010 3:40 pm

    can I go to Argentina with you!? My sister and bro-in-law lived there and loved it. 🙂

  2. Heidi / Aug 2 2010 1:03 am

    I would love to go to Argentina! I’ve actually been to Iguazu Falls, but I was in Paraguay 🙂

  3. Brittany / Aug 2 2010 3:00 am

    You’ve never seen a waterfall?? How is that possible?

    • agrove19 / Aug 2 2010 3:21 am

      The only thing close to a waterfall I have ever witnessed would be in North Carolina on a creek. I think a two foot elevation change doesn’t constitute a full on waterfall.

  4. Emily / Aug 9 2010 12:55 am

    We loved living in Argentina!! Buenos Aires is an amazing city!! We lived there before the collapse of their economy so I’m not really sure how it is now – the dollar should go a lot further now :-). Let’s see. . . great steaks (there is definitely a difference!), Iguazu is amazing (we were able to go into all three countries because there were no check-points), avenida de Florida (downtown B.A. – lots of street tango and such). . . there is so much to see!! It’s been 10 years since we lived there but it’s a beautiful city and I know you would love it! What time of year are you thinking about going? I remember it being lovely in the spring time (Sept/Oct??)

Leave a Reply

